Skip to the main content
< Back

Stewart Distinguished Teaching Awards

The Stewart Distinguished Teaching Awards are made possible through a grant from the Douglas and Virginia Stewart Foundation through our Palm Beach State College Foundation. The awards recognize distinguished teaching utilizing proven student engagement practices fostering interactive learning.

Two Stewart Distinguished Teaching Awards of $5000 each are available in spring term. The awards will honor faculty and program instructors who utilize interactive learning practices as a critical component of effective teaching that promotes student engagement, practices fostering interactive learning, and retention and success. Stewart Distinguished Teaching Award recipients will be those faculty and program instructors who demonstrate that they go above and beyond the norm by designing, implementing, assessing and analyzing learning practices to help students succeed in reaching their academic goals. Documentation should include evidence of how the stated learning outcomes were assessed.

The awards are open to all teaching faculty, including full-time faculty, adjunct faculty, and instructors teaching PSAV courses.  Previous recipients are not eligible.

Questions should be directed to Dr. Anita Kaplan at:

How to Apply

Learn what to do and not to do when applying for the Stewart Distinguished Teaching Award.


Do's and Don'ts


Please note that the applicant must use these forms to ensure comparability between the submitted lesson plans. Materials submitted not using these forms will be returned to the applicant. 

Award recipients will be announced at Convocation. Awardees will be recognized at a District Board of Trustees meeting. The recipients may be asked to make a presentation to faculty at Development Day; recipients may also be asked to present their lesson plans to part-time faculty and program instructors. These presentations will focus on the strategies, practices and methods they use in promoting student retention, engagement and success through instructional design. If you have any questions, please email or call Dr. Anita Kaplan. The selection committee will be headed by Dr. Anita Kaplan, Dean Bachelor's Degree Programs.

All submissions should be sent to

 2018 Award Recipients

Professors Nataliya Romenesko and George Stoupas

Dr. Anita Kaplan and Dr. Roger Yohe congratulate Professor Nataliya Romenesko.Dr. Anita Kaplan, dean of bachelor’s degree programs and Dr. Roger Yohe, vice president of academic affairs, congratulate Dr. George Stoupas.  Click on the image to view more Convocation photos. Photographer: Karina Silva Santisteban


2017-2018 Award Recipients
Sandra Demauro
Kanathy Haney

2016-2017 Award Recipients
Tracy Ciucci
Ted Cascio

2015-2016 Award Recipients
Nancy Pennea
Jeannette Sullivan

2014-2015 Award Recipients
Christopher Schmersahl
Mike Sfiropoulos

2013-2014 Award Recipients
Matthew Klauza
Magdala Ray

2012-2013 Award Recipients
Nicholas Larocca
Karin St. Pierre

2011-2012 Award Recipients
David Duncan
Elizabeth Wilber

2010-2011 Award Recipients

2009-2010 Award Recipients
Patrick Tierney
Mindy Yale

2008-2009 Award Recipients
Marcie Pachter
Barry Russal

2007-2008 Award Recipients
Steve Konopacki
Nancy Levin

2006-2007 Award Recipients
Nancy McDonald
Pat Johnson

Print page