30 Hour Family Child Care Certification PSAV
30-Hour Family Child Care Certification (5363)
Type of Award
PSAV - Post Secondary Adult Vocational Certificate
This PSAV program fulfills the child care training required by the Florida Department of Children and Families for child care providers to operate a licensed family child care home. Home child care providers serving children birth to 5 years old must complete a two part course: Part 1 Rules and Regulations-Family and Part II Introduction to Child Care Worker Certification.
Part I – Rules and Regulations-Family
This course is designed to give family child care home providers an overview of the state and local rules and regulations that govern the child care industry. The goal of this course is to ensure family child care professionals recognize the primary laws that govern child care in Florida and understand the role of the regulatory agencies that enforce those laws. The student will be introduced to course material that will be covered on the Department of Children and Families mandated competency test:
1. Participants will understand how the law defines their roles and responsibilities as child care professionals.
2. Participants will understand the responsibilities of regulatory agencies involved in licensing and inspecting family child care home programs.
3. Participants will identify and understand the primary laws, rules and regulations that govern state and local licensing and child care practices.
4. Participants will understand key business practices related to providing licensed child care in Florida.
Part II – Introduction to Child Care Worker Certification
This course fulfills Part II of two Parts required to complete the 30-Hour Family Child Care Training mandated by the Department of Children and Families for child care workers. This course combines the Introductory Child Care training with the 10-Hour Behavioral Observation and Screening component for a total of 24 hours of training. This course provides training on identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect; health, safety and nutrition; child growth and development as well as behavioral observation and screening techniques.
Program Learning Outcomes
For detailed information, visit www.palmbeachstate.edu/learningoutcomes/Program-Learning-Outcomes.
No high school diploma or GED is required. Students must:
- Complete an online Application for Admission, located at
- After registering and paying the applicable tuition fee students must ALSO register
for the class on the Department of Children and Families Web site: www.myflorida.com/childcare/Training. For additional information regarding scheduling the exam visit
(select Child Care Exam).
Students are required to successfully pass with a score of 70 percent or better the state-mandated competency tests to be awarded their child care certification to work in a licensed family child care home.
For all information related to the competency exam required for childcare certification visit http://www.myflorida.com/childcare/Training or www.palmbeachstate.edu/programs/Childcare (select Child Care Exam).
Total required hours: 30.
The program is offered at all Palm Beach State campuses.
For More Information
Luisa Brennan, brennanl@PalmBeachState.edu, (561) 868-4048
To see when the course is offered, click the course number. To see a course description, click the course title.
|Required Courses||Clock Hours: 30|
|HEV0118||Rules & Regulations for Family Child Care||6|
|HEV0115||Introductory Child Care Worker Certification||24|
|Total Program Clock Hours: 30|
Program length excludes this program from gainful employment reporting requirements.
Career Path Notes
Palm Beach State has additional credit child care and education programs.
For more information about employment opportunities including job outlook and salary information visit:
Occupational Outlook Handbook: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/
O-Net Online: http://online.onetcenter.org/