Skip to the main content
< Back


2001 winners

The provosts presented the awards to the recipient from their area.
Maria Vallejo, Lake Worth, Charles Spencer Pompey; Celeste Beck, Boca Raton, Nancy Parker Wright; Patricia Anderson, Palm Beach Gardens, Idell McLaughlin; Mamie Washington Kendall and Helen Franke, from Belle Glade. (second row) James Watt, board chair, Carolyn Williams, vice chair and PBCC President Dennis Gallon.

Idell McLaughlin

Associate Professor McLaughlin is department chair of English and speech in Palm Beach Gardens.  She was selected because of her work as advisor of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and for involving PBCC students in a number of community service projects. They include: adopting a family and providing them with a stove, refrigerator, new windows and carpet; cooking Thanksgiving dinner for a bedridden mother and her three disabled children; visiting nursing homes for most holidays, providing school supplies and Christmas gifts for The Children’s Place and tutoring and mentoring children.

Charles Spencer Pompey
Pompey is a retired educator, outstanding historian and community activist.

Mamie Washington Kendall, Esq.
Kendall is a former PBCC student, who is a partner in Key and Washington Kendall law firm in Belle Glade

Nancy Parker Wright
Wright is a Quantum Foundation board member, who was instrumental in helping PBCC secure a Quantum Foundation grant.

Print page